Incollect 1-17-18
ARM receives Australia’s top architecture award
May 6, 2016

The Australian Institute of Architects awarded its highest honor, the Gold Medal, to the founding directors of ARM Architecture at an April ceremony. Known for both innovative and controversial design, the firm was founded in 1988 by directors Stephen Ashton, Howard Raggatt and Ian McDougall.

ARM receives Australia’s top architecture award
Stephen Ashton, Howard Raggatt and Ian McDougall; courtesy John Gollings

ARM receives Australia’s top architecture award
The Shrine of Remembrance by ARM Architecture

ARM receives Australia’s top architecture award
Perth Arena, by ARM Architecture

Notable works include Perth Arena in Western Australia, Storey Hall at RMIT University, the refurbishment of Hamer Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre, and the practice’s decade-long re-imagination of the Shrine of Remembrance in Melbourne.

Of the firm, Australian Institute of Architects president Jon Clements said, “This is a practice that has been a genuine leader, influencer, provocateur, culture builder and disseminator of ideas for nearly three decades, and at the core of the practice are three outstanding architects who have created some of the most extraordinary buildings in the short post-colonial history of this country.”

Learn more about the honor.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s news, jobs, events, video and more.
Up arrow 1999293fef354a20ff3205791165807c167562529cd704169b2554737f66abbb
Summer Classics
The Shade Store