Incollect eal itt 645x80
ASFD Pinnacle Awards recognize 16 honorees
Nov 5, 2015

The American Society of Furniture Designers recently celebrated the 20th anniversary of its Pinnacle Awards, which were created by the ASFD board of directors to encourage design quality as well as promote the recognition of designers in the retail home furnishings industry. There were 40 percent more entries this year, and 50 percent more entries in the student category. Says ASFD executive director John Conrad, “The prestige of this program just continues to grow, and that’s exciting for our industry.”

A group of 12 industry pros judged the entries, based on criteria including innovation, form and function, retailer and manufacturing benefit, and consumer benefit. The winners were announced at a banquet held at High Point Market on October 19. Winners include:

Occasional Tables
Phoenix Coffee Table by Thomas O’Brien for Century Furniture


Occasional Storage
Adagio Credenza by Steve Joiner and Erica Wingo for Bernhardt Furniture


Youth Furniture
Lemoore Collection by Steve Hodges, ASFD, for Coaster Company of America


Casual Dining
The Zen Collection by Yuzuru Yamakawa for David Francis Furniture


Formal Dining
Albatros by Gianpietro Tonetti for Dexo Orsenigo Srl


Motion Upholstery
M1 by James Culleton for Palliser Furniture Upholstery


Stationary Upholstery
PRISMA I/II/III by Kelvin Ng, ASFD, for Kelvin Giormani by Planum


Pin Hanging Lamp by Saruta Kiatparkpoom for Phillips Collection


Corridor Bar by Matthew Weatherly for BDI


Home Office
Sequel Wall Mount Desk by Matthew Weatherly for BDI


Home Entertainment
Drake by Christiane Lemieux for DwellStudio by Magnussen Home


Continuum Chair by Carlo Basso, ASFD, for Tropicalia CV


Moderne Muse Bedroom by Dudley Moore, ASFD, and Lenny Chapman, ASFD, for Universal Furniture


Student Award
Grace Chair by Tian Yang, Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, CA


Green Leaf Award
Asken Wall Panel by Dietmar Dutilleux for Phillips Collection


Major Collections
Jet Set by Dudley Moore, ASFD, Lenny Chapman, ASFD, and Laura Niece, ASFD, for Bernhardt

Up arrow 1999293fef354a20ff3205791165807c167562529cd704169b2554737f66abbb
Hh 314x275 editoratlarge displayads mh r1
Renovationmatchmaker eal 314x275 newphoto2 border