Incollect 10-18
Day four at NYIGF: Highlights from Accent on Design
Feb 2, 2010

By Jolene Turner NYIGF remains strong as buyers and designers continue to shop all divisions, including Accent on Design, which features 200+ exhibitors showing design-focused gift, home and lifestyle products. “Our new blue and white series is doing really well,” said John Derian of John Derian Company Inc. (www.johnderian.com). Derian also cited sea-life and whale imagery as a popular theme this year. “The color white is what we are seeing; it’s everywhere,” said J. Kevin Draves and Ken Davis, owners of Passiflora (www.passiflorany.com.) in Hillsdale, NY. “We are having great luck finding high quality pieces at affordable prices.” “All of our elephant pieces, including trivets, banks, bottle stoppers, and lamps are big sellers,” said Anne Weigt for Jonathan Adler (www.jonathanadler.com). The Utopia collection has been a hit during the show as well, according to Weigt. “The brown stoneware with a white glaze really shows off the designs of the pieces.” Five exhibitors from 200+ Accent on Design received Winter Market 2010 Design Excellence awards. Best Product Design went to Areaware (www.areaware.com) for the Shovel Birdhouse, designed by Eindhoven graduate Jan Habraken, and to J-me (www.j-me.co.uk) for the Float magazine rack. Best Collection went to Pablo (www.pablodesigns.com) for ambient, hybrid and task lighting. Overall Excellence went to Eastern Accent (www.easternaccent.com) directed by Masayuki Muramatsu. A+ Best New Designer went to Jung-woo Lee of EK Design (www.ekdesign.co.kr). In addition, a panel of editors selected one winner and two finalists in each of four awards categories: Bed, Bath, Dining, and Home Accessories. Criteria judges considered were: innovation in design; creative use of materials/construction; and new fiber, material or technology. BEST OF MARKET: Designers Guild (New York, NY) for its Watelet Duvet, made of 200-thread count cotton satine, featuring a vibrant reversible Chartreause. BED: Blissliving® Home (www.blisslivinghome.com) for its Chang Mai Duvet Set, a children’s bed set featuring Thai motifs in creative pointillism – including elephants, Thai warriors and native flowers – designed by 11-year-old Aria Curameng. Finalists in this category were John Robshaw Textiles and Home (www.johnrobshaw.com) for its Hand-Stitched Duvet, block-printed on 400-thread count cotton satine, and Ogallala Comfort Company (www.ogallalacomfortcompany.com) for its organic Hypodown duvet. BATH: vieandsomn™ (www.vieandsomn.com) for its Terry-Lined Robe, made of biodynamic organic Egyptian cotton. Finalists in this category were Forza & Home by Turkish Towel Collection (www.forzatekstil.com) for its Ottoman Topkapi Collection towels, and Matouk (www.matouk.com) for Bespoke Towels. DINING: Settings by Mona Inc. (www.settingsbymona.com) for its Easycare Collection, a stain-resistant, hand-embroidered tablecloth that requires little or no ironing. Finalists in this category were Pom Pom at Home (www.pompomathome.com) for its Audrey Tablecloth, and Linen Way (www.linenway.com) for its Birds Olive green/blue tablecloth. HOME ACCESSORIES: V Rugs & Home for its Olivette Decorative Pillow, made with environmentally-friendly materials, including mango wood chips to create pattern and texture over hemp. Finalists in this category were Allem Studio (www.allemstudio.com) for its Madhubani Dancing Peacocks Pillow, and Designers Guild (www.designersguild.com) for its Porden cushion.

Up arrow 1999293fef354a20ff3205791165807c167562529cd704169b2554737f66abbb
Advertisement
IMC
Americasmart