Incollect eal itt 645x80
Jury selects 16 nominees for Restaurant Design Awards
May 24, 2012

The American Institute of Architects Los Angeles, and its three-person jury, announced 16 nominees in the eighth annual Restaurant Design Awards Competition. The distinguished jury was made up of chef and restauranteur Evan Kleiman, architect Mark Rios and "Top Chef" winner and restauranteur Michael Voltaggio. They selected 16 projects in three categories: nine restaurants, three cafe/bars and four lounge/nightclubs.

A-Frame restaurant by Knibb Design Corp. Photo by Art Gray
"This year's work was fantastic. It was exciting to see the stylistic variety. We see a lot of healthy restaurants happening. An indicator, perhaps, that the economy is improving," commented Rios. Kleiman noted that the submissions, "made bold, quirky choices that are engaging, which creates a personality for the space." Adds Voltaggio, "We chose nominees that got creative with the money they had, we also chose nominees that got creative with the money they didn't have, which shows that creativity comes from having good designs."

Maximiliano restaurant by FreelandBuck. Photo by Nils Timm
Voting is open now through June 18 for the People's Choice Award winner in each category.

Hyde lounge by G+ Design. Photo by Ryan Forbes
The winners will be announced on Friday, June 22 as part of Dwell on Design at the L.A. Convention Center.

Up arrow 1999293fef354a20ff3205791165807c167562529cd704169b2554737f66abbb
Hh 314x275 editoratlarge displayads mh r1
Renovationmatchmaker eal 314x275 newphoto2 border