Incollect May Wall to Wall Incollect Mobile May Ad
London’s ‘Designs of the Year’ shortlist announced
Jan 25, 2013

Last week, the Design Museum in London announced the contenders for the sixth annual Designs of the Year award, including the best designs from around the world across seven categories: architecture, digital, fashion, furniture, graphics, product and transport.
All 90 nominations considered the most original and exciting designs, prototypes and designers in the world today will all be brought together and showcased in a Design Museum exhibition March 20 – July 7, 2013.
The winners from each category and one overall winner will be announced in April. Last year, design studio Barber Osgerby won the award for the London 2012 Olympic Torch.
London’s ‘Designs of the Year’ shortlist announced
Thalia Theater
The nominations in architecture include: La tour Bois-le-pretre, Paris, designed by Drouot and Lacaton & Vassal; Clapham Library, London, designed by Studio Egret West; Thalia Theater, Lisbon, designed by Goncalo Byrne Arquitectos & Barbas Lopes Arquitectos; Museum of Innoncen, Istanbul, designed by Orhan Pamuk with Ihsan Bilgin, Cem Yucel and Grgor Sunder Plassmann; and Home For All, designed by Akihisa Hirata, Sout Fujmoto, Kumiko Inui and Toyo Ito.
London’s ‘Designs of the Year’ shortlist announced  London’s ‘Designs of the Year’ shortlist announced
Reimagined Chairs & The Sea Chair
The nominations in furniture include: The Sea Chair, designed by Studio Swine & Kieren Jones; Liquid Glacial Table, designed by Zaha Hadid; A-Collection, designed by Ronan and Erwan Bourellec for Hay; Gravity Stool, designed by Jolan Van Der Wiel; Well Proven Chair, designed by James Shaw and Marjan van Aubel; Tie Paper Chair, designed by Pinwu; 100 chairs, designed by Marni; Medici Chair, designed by Konstantin Grcic for Mattiazzi; Re-imagined Chairs, designed by Studiomama (Nina Tolstrup and Jack Mama); Engineering Temporality, designed by Studio Markunpoika; Corniches, designed by Ronan and Erwan Bouroullec for Vitra; and Future Primitives, designed by Muller Van Severen.
London’s ‘Designs of the Year’ shortlist announced
The Olympic Cauldron
Product designs include: The Olympic Cauldron, designed by Heatherwick Studio; Bang & Olufsen ‘Beloit 12,’ designed by Cecile Manz; Oigen Kitchenware, designed by Jasper Morrison/Japan Creative; Tekio designed by Anthony Dickens; and Surface Tension Lamp designed by Front.
For a complete list of nominations and for more information, click here.

Want to stay informed? Sign up for our newsletter, which recaps the week’s news, jobs, events, video and more.
Up arrow 1999293fef354a20ff3205791165807c167562529cd704169b2554737f66abbb
Vieyt Side 1
Americas Mart